A G-Mac Exclusive Interview!

Photobucket

Straight from the finals at the first ever SUP contest in Puerto Escondido aka The Mexican Pipeline, Garrett McNamara some how was able to hit opening day at both Mavericks in California and Sunset in Hawaii. We were finally able to catch up with this man on a mission and ask him a few questions.

Photobucket

How do you do it? You are always in the right at place at the right time.

What makes it possible to the surf the world 365, 24/7 is the support of my partners/sponsors, SoBe/Pepsi, Don Joy Ortho, and Surf N Sea. With out them I’d only be surfing at home.  Oh yeah, can’t forget the Internet. The Internet enables me to monitor the oceans all around the world and chase any swell I want to go after.

Photobucket
Mavs opening day.

Where is your career taking you this year?

Surfing is taking me back to the roots, where it all began. I have been traditional surfing my whole life. You know, paddling with your arms. You, in the middle of the ocean, putting yourself in the right place at the right time. It’s so pure. It’s my passion. It’s what I live for. It is where it all started!

I have gone so far back to the roots that I’ve even picked up a paddle. SUP baby! And let me tell you it is the best work out there is!!!

Yeah, we saw you take your SUP to huge Mavs and even Pipeline, where you got Barrel Of The Year. That was totally unexpected and it seems like you keep pushing the bar. And now the 2nd place finish at Puerto Escondido! Tell us about SUP and how it fits into the mix with what you’re doing.

SUP is so challenging and so hard. The greater the challenge, the greater the possibility for a rush. That’s what it’s all about. It takes every muscle in your body from the top of your head to the tip of your big toe, all firing to keep you balanced. Then, every stroke is a intense but fun core work out. There  is nothing like it!!!
Photobucket
SUP @ Sunset opening day (photos by Tony Harrington@wheresharro.com)

Photobucket
Sunset opening day (photos by Tony Harrington@wheresharro.com)

So, what are your goals?

I am so passionate about giant waves. They make me feel alive. I’m always searching for the rush. The rush is my goal!!!

My immediate goal is to be invited to The Quiksilver Eddie Aikau, The Mavericks Surf Contest and Red Bull’s Big Wave Africa. Furthermore, to be invited to every big wave contest in the world.
Photobucket
Quiksilver Eddie Aikau, 2000

You have been so influential in big wave surfing and you are always at the forefront of the sport. Aren’t you already invited to all these events?

Well that is up to the contest directors and sponsors to decide. The world will know when their invitee lists comes out.

But you have practically won everything there is to win in big wave surfing and even the biggest wave ever paddled into at Mavericks. What more do you have to do?

I am not sure, but as long as it’s in the water I will do it!!!

Photobucket

“Biggest wave ever paddled at Mavs” – Peter Mel

You’ve surfed it all from Hawaii to Alaska to Chile and Tahiti. But we’ve heard some crazy things about you riding this glacier wave and that there is a movie on the way. Tell us more.

Oh yeah! The Glacier Project. Keali’i and I surfed a tsunami/tidal wave generated from a calving glacier in Cordova, Alaska. It was the heaviest thing I’ve ever done by far! We documented the entire mission. 160 hours in HD, that has been edited down to 44 minutes. The footage is incredible. We faced mind-bending situations. The editors said it will be done in a month and it is looking awesome. I don’t want to say too much now, but the world is in for a surprise!!!

Photobucket
Glacier surfing. Whoa!

Anything you would like to add?

Yes, I’ve been working with Kimball Taylor from Surfer Magazine on a profile. He is digging deep and I cant wait to see the final product when it hits stands in December.

Also, I’ve been planning to convert my Ford F-250 Diesel to run on used vegetable oil to reduce my carbon footprint. Everyone needs to do something positive for the environment and thanks to SoBe/Pepsi’s support it will be converted this year.
Photobucket
SoBe/Pepsi just started making Life Water bottles with half the amount of plastic they used to. Every bit helps and makes a huge difference!!!

Thanks for your time.

Thanks for your interest.
Photobucket
G-Mac locked and loaded!

Interview by jim-BROWSKEE for bwareville.com

Get informed:
Garrettmcnamara.com

8 responses to “A G-Mac Exclusive Interview!

  1. One of the most underrated and underappreciated
    surfers in our recent time is G -Mac…
    A long carreer with total dedication is what i think
    of when i think of Garrett. the most important
    thing in his life that i have seen is his wife connie
    and his mom,kids, friends, and Surf.
    though Surfing may consume most of his time
    Being a father makes him go farther than most
    because his focus isnt to be a rich greedy bastard
    but a true waterman/Human to all he meets..
    I love you G-Bro and hope to be in you and yours
    life always..
    Love and Peace
    Orlando of CSR…

  2. nice 2 foot wave!!hahah

  3. how do i get one of those boards from plumaria. is that dick brewers new line of surf desisn and new logos. brewer is the all time shaper.and to be shaping for garrett.how did they get together.live and love for surf ……..ROB

  4. Ya G.. you are the man! great interview.. i cant wait to see the glacier movie!

  5. Great comment Orlando. It was an honor to get this interview with G.

  6. G-Mac.. Garrett and Liam are always pushing the limits of what us mere mortals can only dream of. Glad to see those knee caps are intact again. See you in Hawaii in December. 🙂

    -C

  7. HI Garrett looks like some one is living the dream DUDE , I hope you are putting that Quiver Kaddy to good use to reduce your carbon foot print ,
    It would be good if I could get a testimonial from you, It would help my sales as the USA is not going good for me , and we need to move some stock ,
    • The average Carbon footprint for people in Australia is 16.3 tonnes.
    • The average for the industrial nations is about 11 tonnes.
    • The average worldwide carbon footprint is about 4 tonnes.
    • To combat climate change the worldwide average needs to reduce to 2 tonnes.
    http://www.carbonfootprint.com/aboutus.html

    Buy a Quiver Kaddy help reduce your Carbon Footprint

  8. HI Garrett looks like some one is living the dream DUDE , I hope you are putting that Quiver Kaddy to good use to reduce your carbon foot print ,
    It would be good if I could get a testimonial from you, It would help my sales as the USA is not going good for me , and we need to move some stock ,
    • The average Carbon footprint for people in Australia is 16.3 tonnes.
    • The average for the industrial nations is about 11 tonnes.
    • The average worldwide carbon footprint is about 4 tonnes.
    • To combat climate change the worldwide average needs to reduce to 2 tonnes.

    Buy a Quiver Kaddy help reduce your Carbon Footprint

Leave a comment